Fishing All Night?

Trust

The night had been long for Simon and his fishing buddies on the Sea of Galilee. They’d tossed their nets and hoped for a big haul, but the nets had returned empty. And then Jesus showed up. “Put out into deep water, and let down the nets for a catch,” He said.

Simon protested, but only a little. “Master, we’ve worked hard all night and haven’t caught anything. But because you say so, I will let down the nets.”

Simon’s obedience paid off. “When they had done so, they caught such a large number of fish that their nets began to break…They came and filled both boats so full that they began to sink” (Luke 5:4-7).

Maybe you, too, have been ‘fishing all night’. You’ve cast your nets on behalf of your marriage, hoping your efforts will haul in happiness. You’ve searched for employment. You’ve prayed for your prodigal. Your nets are empty, and you’re tired. But Jesus says, “Try again.”

His words make little sense, but your obedience could make all the difference. Go ahead, toss those nets again.

Take Action: Write a note “Still trying, Still Trusting”. Put it somewhere on your desk or at home and you will witness miracles.

Leave a Reply

Hip Hop Kambi

A place for hip hop artists, activists, and the heads

A Day in a Dog's Life™

See the World Through My Eyes

AtoZMom's Blog

A Discourse on Moms, Fledgling Writers, and Faith

#SwalaNyeti

Mac Otani. My thoughts. My beliefs. My take. #MacSpeak

Blog.Mavuno

Turning Ordinary People Into Fearless Influencers Of Society

Never Available

You won't find what you are looking for here

Kenyan History

Learning about Kenya Through History

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

1000 Awesome Things

A time-ticking countdown of 1000 awesome things by Neil Pasricha

Common Mistakes in Business English

active writing guide for non-native speakers

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

This Day With God

Applying Faith in our Life

Words To Vomit

Things you just can't talk about at home.

Grow your innerself

Love the world we may live on

The Foureyed Poet

I enjoy writing and I wanted to leave something of myself behind, so people will remember me. Especially my children and grandchildren.

Know My Worth

Nothing I do, nothing I have done, nothing that has been done to me, impacts my value.

Amazing Grace

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith

My thoughts.

Always my thoughts.

